JERRY Portable Sawmill vs Norwood LumberMan MN27: Track, Options and Add-On Flexibility

2026/10/31 10:00

A JERRY portable sawmill is built to order around a modular track with a pair of adjustable legs at every metre, takes logs up to 800 mm in diameter, and can be ordered with a towable trailer, winch ramp or hydraulic log lifter. The Norwood LumberMan MN27 is a fixed-configuration entry mill: 27 in (69 cm) log diameter, 23 in (59 cm) width of cut, a 16 ft (4.8 m) track before extensions and a 14 hp engine, published at $4,995 USD.

Those two sentences already show where the decision sits. One mill is specified per order and grows by adding track, legs and handling gear; the other is a catalogue build with a published price and a published set of bolt-on accessories. Neither approach is wrong, but they answer different questions, and the questions are usually about track length, cutting-height control and how the log reaches the bed. This article puts the published numbers side by side, marks every competitor figure with its source and month, and leaves the judgement to the buyer.

The two mills side by side

Read the "published by" row as carefully as the numbers. Everything in the Norwood column comes from Norwood's own product and collection pages; nothing in this table is estimated, remembered or inferred from photographs.

ItemJERRY portable sawmillNorwood LumberMan MN27
Maximum log diameterUp to 800 mm (31.5 in)27 in (69 cm)
Maximum width of cutQuoted per build; not published on the current portable specification sheet23 in (59 cm)
Maximum depth of cutNot published on the current portable specification sheet8 in (20.3 cm)
Track length as suppliedBuilt to order in modular sections; confirm the length you need at quotation16 ft (4.8 m) standard, before optional extensions
Track extensionAdditional sections quoted per order4 ft (1.2 m) bolt-on extension
Maximum log length, no extensionFollows the track length ordered12 ft 9 in (3.8 m)
Track levellingA pair of adjustable legs at every metre of trackTen micro-adjust leveling feet
Cutting height settingSelf-locking handwheel on a double-pulley chain lift; stainless steel height scaleAuto-locking sawhead; set display scale in 9/8 in, 2 in, 1 in and 3/4 in
BladeBand blade; water sprayed on the blade during the cut for cooling and dust control144 in (3660 mm) band blade; manual blade lube system, auto lube optional
Blade guidesPrecision linear guide rail and slider, minimum clearance 0.02 mmDual fixed 1 1/4 in roller blade guides
PowerPetrol (EPA and EU Stage V), diesel (EU Stage V) or electric motor14 hp (429 cc) Kohler OHV, recoil start
HydraulicsHydraulic log lifter up to 8 t and chain log turner on the hydraulic versionHydraulics capable: no
MobilityTrailer version with leaf-spring suspension, tow bar, winch and loading rampOptional Trekker mobility kit, separate road kit
SurfacesPowder-coated frame, hot-dip galvanized contact surfacesNot stated on the product page reviewed
Certification statedCE; TÜV Rheinland factory auditNot stated on the product page reviewed
PriceOn request; MOQ 1 set$4,995.00 USD, list price, subject to change

Specification as published by Norwood official site, October 2026 (LumberMan MN27 product page and the Norwood sawmill collection page). Prices are list prices in USD and are subject to change. JERRY figures are from our own portable sawmill specification and are confirmed again on the quotation. Where a JERRY figure is not published, the cell says so rather than carrying an estimate.

What track length actually decides

Track length sets the longest log you can saw in one pass, and it is the number buyers most often confuse with log diameter. Diameter says how thick a log the head will straddle. Track says how long a log will sit on the bed. A mill with generous diameter and a short track will still refuse a 5 m trunk, and a mill with a long track and a narrow throat will still refuse a 700 mm butt.

Norwood's 16 ft bed and 4 ft extension

Norwood publishes the LumberMan MN27 with a 16 ft (4.8 m) track and a 12 ft 9 in (3.8 m) maximum log length before extensions, plus a 4 ft (1.2 m) bolt-on track extension. That is a clear, checkable specification: if your timber runs to 3.8 m, the standard mill covers it; if it runs to 5 m, you buy one extension and plan the extra support. The same page lists a 6 ft 6 in (2 m) width at the widest point and a 15 ft (4.5 m) working clearance each side, which is useful when you are deciding whether the mill fits between two stacks.

JERRY's modular track and per-metre levelling

JERRY builds the track in sections to the length ordered, so the length is agreed at quotation rather than chosen from a price list. Two details matter more than the nominal figure. First, every metre of track carries a pair of adjustable legs, so a 6 m bed is levelled at six points instead of being jacked at the ends and left to sag in the middle. Second, both sides of the track carry anti-derail stops, which is the part that keeps the head on the rail when a log with a heavy knot loads the blade sideways.

A modular track has one honest disadvantage and one honest advantage. The disadvantage is that you cannot read a single track length off a catalogue, and a buyer who wants a number in writing before enquiring will have to ask. The advantage is that the bed matches the timber instead of the timber being cut to fit the bed, which matters when the mill is bought for a specific stand of trees.

JERRY firewood processor with discharge conveyor on a white studio background

Cutting height: handwheel, chain and sawhead lock

Board thickness is set by the height mechanism, and this is where the two mills take visibly different routes. Norwood uses an auto-locking sawhead, which Norwood describes as infinitely adjustable rather than running on pre-set cogs, with a set display scale marked in 9/8 in, 2 in, 1 in and 3/4 in and a built-in kerf allowance. Norwood also lists an optional digital scale for buyers who want the figure on a display.

JERRY uses a handwheel on a double-pulley chain lift with a self-locking hub: the head stops where you leave it and does not creep down while you are setting the next cut. The height is read from a stainless steel scale rather than a printed plastic strip, because the scale sits in the sawdust stream and gets wiped hundreds of times a season. Above the head, the guide rail and slider run at a minimum clearance of 0.02 mm, which is the clearance that keeps a deep cut from walking.

Neither system removes the operator's job. Both need the first board measured by hand and both need the scale checked against a real cut when the blade is changed, because a new band is never exactly the same thickness as the one it replaced.

Getting the log onto the bed

Log handling is the cost that does not appear on either price list, and it is where an under-equipped mill becomes an expensive one. A 700 mm hardwood butt weighs several hundred kilos. Lifting it by hand onto a 700 mm bed is a two-person job with a real injury record, so the loading method deserves as much attention as the engine.

Norwood sells the manual route as a package: a log loading and rolling package with ramp, and separately a set of manual roller toe boards. Norwood's own product page is explicit that many owners load with their own tractor or loader, and that the ramp and winch package exists for buyers who do not have one. That is a fair description of the trade: manual loading costs less and runs slower, and it works when the logs are moderate and the operator is fit.

JERRY offers the same manual route on the trailer version - a winch and a loading ramp that one person can use to roll a log up onto the bed - and adds a hydraulic option: a hydraulic log lifter rated to 8 t, a chain log turner to rotate the log to the next face, and a hose drag chain so the hydraulic lines are not dragged across the cut. Buyers who process large or crooked timber usually take the hydraulic version, because the turner does the job that otherwise destroys backs and blades: rolling a heavy log to a fresh face between cuts.

Towable board edger with roller feed bed and anti-kickback fingers on a dark frame

Power, emissions and the destination market

The engine is where a specification meets a customs form. JERRY portable mills are offered with petrol engines carrying both EPA and EU Stage V approval, diesel engines carrying EU Stage V approval, and electric motors for sites with reliable three-phase or single-phase supply. The distinction inside that list is worth stating plainly: our diesel units are Stage V for Europe and are not offered with EPA approval, so a North American buyer who wants a diesel is pointed to the petrol or electric build instead.

Norwood publishes a single engine for the LumberMan MN27: a 14 hp (429 cc) Kohler OHV with recoil start. Buyers comparing the two should read that as a statement about the base build, not about the whole Norwood range - the larger LumberPro and LumberMax models on the same site list 18 to 27 hp engines, including electric options.

Where each mill fits

This section is deliberately written as fit rather than ranking. Both mills saw straight boards; the difference is what surrounds the cut.

  • One fixed site, mixed log sizes, one operator. A published track length, a published price and a bolt-on extension list make the LumberMan MN27 easy to budget and easy to compare across dealers. Buyers who want to place an order today against a known figure are the natural audience for that build.

  • Timber that does not fit a catalogue size. A mill specified to the metre, with a leg pair at every metre, suits a woodlot where the longest trunk is 4.2 m and the track would otherwise be either 3.8 m or 4.8 m with waste at one end.

  • Heavy butts and repeated turning. Hydraulic lifting to 8 t and a chain turner change the daily labour on logs above roughly 500 mm. If the plan is to break down large hardwood rather than clean softwood, the hydraulic build is the one to price.

  • Export orders with a certificate file. CE marking and a TÜV Rheinland factory audit are part of the JERRY quotation package, which matters when the machine has to clear customs or satisfy a lender in the destination country.

  • Buying a container rather than a machine. MOQ is 1 set, and machines ship from Qingdao on FOB, CFR, CIF or EXW terms, so a single mill and a mixed container follow the same paperwork.

On the wider JERRY range, the commercial sawmill line adds a patented pre-cut debarker that opens the bark ahead of the band, along with CNC setworks and a hydraulic clamp. Those options belong to the commercial build rather than to the portable line, and they are worth pricing only when the volume justifies a fixed installation.

What we could not verify

Two cells in the table above say "not published" on the JERRY side, and three say the same on the Norwood side. That is the honest state of the two specification sheets in October 2026, and a buyer should treat it as a gap to close by email rather than as a zero.

  • JERRY width of cut and maximum depth of cut are not on the current portable specification sheet. They are confirmed per build at quotation, because the head and the guide set differ between the manual and hydraulic versions.

  • Norwood surface treatment and certification are not stated on the LumberMan MN27 page we reviewed. We did not look for them elsewhere and we have not assumed either way.

  • Throughput figures are absent from both columns. Board-feet-per-hour numbers depend on species, log quality, blade condition and operator, and neither manufacturer publishes a figure we could compare fairly.

Questions buyers ask

Can I add track later instead of ordering the final length now?

On the Norwood LumberMan MN27, yes: a 4 ft (1.2 m) track extension is a listed accessory. On a JERRY mill the track is built in sections, so extra sections can be quoted later, but the cost of a second shipment usually makes it less expensive to fix the length at the first order. Decide the longest log you expect in the next five years and order for that.

Is a 14 hp engine enough for hardwood?

Horsepower limits feed rate, not the ability to cut. A 14 hp band mill will saw hardwood, but the operator slows the feed and the blade works hotter. That is why blade cooling and blade condition matter more than the badge on the engine: a spray-cooled blade on a 14 hp head keeps its tension through a long cut, where a dry blade heats, relaxes and starts to wander.

Why does JERRY quote the mill instead of publishing one price?

Because the build changes the price. Track length, trailer or static frame, manual or hydraulic loading, petrol, diesel or electric, and the tension system are all chosen at order, and MOQ is 1 set. A single published figure would have to assume one combination, and the buyer with a different combination would then have to re-open the price anyway.

Do the certifications travel with the machine?

CE documentation and the TÜV Rheinland factory audit report are part of the export file, and the engine's EPA or Stage V approval is tied to the engine model fitted. Ask for the documents with the quotation rather than after the deposit, so the certificate number, engine model and machine serial can be checked against each other before the crate is closed.

What should I compare after price?

Four things, in this order: the longest log the bed accepts, how the log reaches the bed, how cutting height is set and read, and which engine approval your market requires. Price differences between mills usually trace back to one of those four, and a mill that costs less because it has no hydraulic loading is not a saving if you intended to buy the loader anyway.

Key facts

  • JERRY portable sawmill: log diameter up to 800 mm; modular track with an adjustable leg pair at every metre; linear guide clearance 0.02 mm; water-spray blade cooling; self-locking handwheel height; stainless steel scale; anti-derail stops; powder-coated frame with hot-dip galvanized contact surfaces.

  • JERRY power and options: petrol with EPA and EU Stage V, diesel with EU Stage V, or electric motor; trailer version with leaf springs, winch and ramp; hydraulic log lifter up to 8 t and chain log turner; heavy-duty track and electric setworks available as options.

  • Norwood LumberMan MN27, as published October 2026: 27 in (69 cm) log diameter, 23 in (59 cm) width of cut, 8 in (20.3 cm) depth of cut, 16 ft (4.8 m) track, 12 ft 9 in (3.8 m) log length before extension, 144 in (3660 mm) blade, 14 hp (429 cc) Kohler, no hydraulics, $4,995.00 USD list.

  • Trade terms: CE and TÜV Rheinland factory audit; Verified Custom Manufacturer; MOQ 1 set; shipped from Qingdao; FOB, CFR, CIF or EXW; factory in Zibo, Shandong, China.

Choosing between the two

If the mill has to fit a published specification, a published price and a short delivery, the LumberMan MN27 is a fully documented option and Norwood's own pages give you every number needed to check the fit. If the mill has to fit your timber, your log weights and your labour situation, the JERRY build is quoted around those answers, with the track length, the loading method and the engine approval chosen at order.

Send us the longest log you expect, the diameter range, the species and whether you will load by hand, by tractor or by hydraulic lifter. We will come back with one configuration and one price, not a brochure. The same portable-versus-commercial decision is set out in Portable vs Commercial Sawmill: Choosing by Log Diameter and Output, and the blade cooling system mentioned above is explained in Blade Cooling: Water Spray vs Mist Systems.

Contact: jerry@jerry-sawmill.com | forest-machinery.com

Related Products