JERRY Portable Sawmill vs Woodland Mills HM130MAX: Log Capacity, Build and What You Pay For
Short answer
The two mills sit in the same class but are specified differently. The Woodland Mills HM130MAX is published at a 30 in (76 cm) log diameter with a 30 in maximum cut width and a 14 HP engine. JERRY portable sawmills are built around log capacity up to 800 mm, with a choice of gasoline, diesel or electric power. Which one suits you depends on the logs you actually have and whether you need a wider cut than 30 in.
Published specifications side by side
Values below are quoted from each manufacturer's own published information. Woodland Mills figures are from the HM130MAX product pages on woodlandmills.com as published in October 2026; JERRY figures are from our own product documentation. Where a manufacturer does not publish a value, the cell says so rather than being estimated.
| Item | JERRY portable sawmill | Woodland Mills HM130MAX |
|---|---|---|
| Maximum log diameter | Up to 800 mm (31.5 in) | 30 in / 76 cm (as published) |
| Maximum cut width | Varies by model; confirm for the model you select | 30 in / 76 cm (as published) |
| Engine options | Gasoline (EPA and Stage V), diesel (Stage V), or electric motor | 14 HP (as published) |
| Blade guidance | Precision linear guide rails, slider clearance down to 0.02 mm | Not stated on the product page reviewed |
| Blade lubrication / cooling | Water spray at the cut, which also suppresses dust | Auto lube (as published) |
| Mounting | Ground mounted, or trailer chassis with leaf springs, winch loading ramp and hydraulic log lifter on the hydraulic version | Ground mounted, or Woodlander trailer (as published) |
| Surface protection | Powder coating on non-wear surfaces; hot-dip galvanized contact and wear surfaces | Not stated on the product page reviewed |
| List price | On request; MOQ 1 set | US$5,775 ground mounted, US$7,790 trailer mounted (list price as published, subject to change) |
Specification as published by Woodland Mills official site, October 2026.
Where the 30 in ceiling matters
Cut width is the dimension that decides what you can sell. A 30 in cut lets you take wide live-edge slabs from logs that fit inside it. If your timber regularly runs past that, the mill becomes the limit rather than the log, and the slab has to be split or the log sent elsewhere. That is the point to check before choosing on price: measure the small-end diameter of your ten biggest logs, then look at the published capacity of each candidate.
Log diameter and cut width are not the same number. A mill can accept a log larger than it can cut through, because the throat opening and the maximum cut width are separate limits. Both figures are quoted above so the comparison is like for like.
Power and where the mill is used
Woodland Mills publishes a 14 HP engine for the HM130MAX. JERRY builds the same class of mill around a choice of power: gasoline engines with EPA and Stage V certification, diesel with Stage V, or an electric motor for a fixed site with mains power. For a buyer in the EU, the Stage V option matters because it is the emission stage that applies to non-road engines in that market. For a buyer milling at a permanent yard, an electric motor removes fuel handling altogether.
Build details that decide how the board comes out
Two details on our portable line are worth checking against any mill you compare:
Rail and slider fit. The linear guide and slider clearance is held to 0.02 mm. Any play here shows up as a wavy face and an extra pass to clean it up.
Corrosion protection. Non-wear surfaces are powder coated rather than painted, and the surfaces that contact logs or take bolt wear are hot-dip galvanized. In wet climates and in sea freight, that is the difference between a machine that still looks like a machine after a few seasons and one that does not.
The HM130MAX page we reviewed lists a FULLCUT sawhead and a RapidChange blade system, and does not publish rail tolerance or surface treatment, so we make no comparison on those two points.
Q&A
Is a 30 in mill enough for live-edge slabs?
For logs inside 30 in, yes. Above that the cut is limited by the mill. Measure your logs before deciding, not after.
Do both mills offer a trailer version?
Yes. Woodland Mills lists the HM130MAX on a Woodlander trailer at US$7,790 list. JERRY offers a trailer chassis with leaf springs, a winch loading ramp and, on the hydraulic version, a log lifter rated to 8 t.
Can I get a wider cut than 30 in from JERRY?
Our range includes models with larger capacity than the portable class shown here. Send us the log diameter and the board widths you sell and we will point to the model that covers it.
What emission certification applies in Europe?
Stage V applies to non-road engines in the EU. JERRY gasoline and diesel engines are Stage V certified; gasoline engines also carry EPA certification for North America.
Key facts
HM130MAX as published: 30 in (76 cm) log diameter, 30 in cut width, 14 HP, US$5,775 ground / US$7,790 trailer list.
JERRY portable: log capacity up to 800 mm; gas (EPA, Stage V), diesel (Stage V) or electric; 0.02 mm rail-slider clearance; powder coat plus hot-dip galvanized contact surfaces; water-spray blade cooling.
JERRY trade terms: MOQ 1 set, shipped from Qingdao, FOB / CFR / CIF / EXW.
JERRY certifications: CE, TÜV Rheinland factory audit, Verified Custom Manufacturer.
Choosing between them
If your logs are inside 30 in and you want a published list price to budget against, the HM130MAX figures are public and easy to compare. If your logs run wider, or you need diesel or electric power, or the machine will live in a wet climate, send us your log sizes and we will match a model.
Write to jerry@jerry-sawmill.com or visit forest-machinery.com.





